Projets

Manuscrits de  Tombouctou

Manuscript folios post-conservation Manuscript folios post-conservation

Notre travail sur les manuscrits de Tombouctou continue.  Les chercheurs travaillent de manière incessante à la traduction de documents provenant des collections Ahmed Baba et Mamma Haidara. Jusqu'à présent, en raison des centres d’intérêt individuels des chercheurs, l’attention s’est principalement portée sur la traduction de manuscrits liés à la fatawa (Règles juridiques islamiques), les pratiques Sufi et les femmes. Une collection de ces traductions est en préparation pour une publication.

Les usagers inscrits peuvent accéder à la traduction des manuscrits via notre Database.


Formation continue

Project researchers and associates discussing African Calligraphies, Cape Town. Project researchers and associates discussing African Calligraphies, Cape Town.

Le Projet des Manuscrits de Tombouctou organise régulièrement des stages de formation destinés à de jeunes universitaires et chercheurs affiliés au Projet. Ces stages visent à assister les universitaires dans leurs recherches, et à encourager une interaction parmi eux. L’objectif de cette formation est vaste ; il inclut des cours de langue (en arabe, français et anglais), des ateliers d’adresse publique, des séminaires d’écriture académique ainsi que des ateliers de technologie informatique et de compétences dans le domaine de la recherche.

En plus des stages de formation en compétences, nous avons organisé des groupes d’étude  sur des thèmes d’intérêt liés à notre domaine d’étude, à savoir sur l’histoire du livre, la théorie de l’archivage et l’histoire de la lecture.


Autres Manuscrits du Mali (Jenne)

Manuscripts stored for future archiving in New Jenne Library Manuscripts stored for future archiving in New Jenne Library

La ville de Jenne se trouve au Mali, à l’intérieur des terres de la région du delta du Niger. Son histoire est intimement liée à celle de Tombouctou : Jenne faisait, elle aussi, partie de la route commerciale transsaharienne, et de même que Tombouctou, elle était devenue un centre important d’études islamiques. Le riche héritage érudit de Jenne se manifeste dans ses collections de manuscrits contemporaines, conservées pour la plupart chez des particuliers, à Jenne et dans les régions avoisinantes.

Manuscripts of local Jenne families Manuscripts of local Jenne families
Des projets de recherches et de conservation concernant les manuscrits de Jenne continuent de voir le jour. Après avoir visité la ville en 2009, le Projet des Manuscrits de Tombouctou s’est engagé à soutenir les initiatives locales de conservation et à entreprendre des recherches sur ces manuscrits, en renforçant les compétences des conservateurs locaux par des stages de formation.

Manuscripts of local Jenne families Manuscripts of local Jenne families

Ajami d'Afrique

First meeting of the African Ajami research network, Timbuktu First meeting of the African Ajami research network, Timbuktu

Maintenant que le projet des Manuscrits de Tombouctou poursuit son œuvre depuis plusieurs années, nous élargissons le champ de notre étude au-delà de Tombouctou, nous concentrant  sur des traditions d’écritures arabes provenant d’autres régions d’Afrique. Un aspect majeur de cette activité consiste à établir des liens avec des universitaires qui travaillent sur les traditions d’écriture ajami dans d’autres parties du continent.  Jusqu’à présent, notre réseau d’ajami africain compte des experts du Niger, du Mali, du Nigeria, d’Éthiopie, d’Afrique du Sud ainsi que de Norvège et de Pologne. Notre première réunion s’est tenue en décembre 2009. Pour de plus amples informations, visiter Évènements.
 
Nous cherchons toujours à étendre ce réseau de façon à inclure des chercheurs opérant dans d’autres régions d’Afrique. S’il vous intéresse de rejoindre notre réseau, merci de nous contacter.
 

Le Cap

Salie family manuscript collection, Cape Town Salie family manuscript collection, Cape Town

En 2008, le projet a entrepris des recherches sur les traditions locales d’écriture Ajami  parmi lesquelles on trouve les écritures arabo-afrikaans et jawi (arabo-malais).

Saarah Jappie a entrepris une étude pilote, recueillant des données sur la situation générale des cultures Ajami  du Cap.  Cette étude inclut la mise en catalogue de la bibliothèque privée d’un intellectuel du Cap, l’Imam Manie Bassier (hyperlink article). Les travaux sur cette tradition Ajami sont toujours en cours, une exposition et la traduction d’un catalogue étant envisagées dans un proche avenir.


Calligraphies Africaines

'The Saints of Timbuktu', Boubacar Sadeck 'The Saints of Timbuktu', Boubacar Sadeck

Ce projet a débuté en août 2009 par l’exposition de calligraphie From Istanbul to Timbuktu: Ink Routes, et les ateliers et séminaires académiques qui s’y rattachaient. Un des principaux objectifs de cette exposition et des évènements qui y étaient liés, était de souligner la place des calligraphies islamiques africaines dans le plus grand domaine de l’art islamique. Ce projet était d’autant plus significatif que les calligraphies africaines sont rarement incluses dans les majeures représentations des traditions de la calligraphie islamique. La prochaine phase du projet focalisera sur le soutien des calligraphes africains émergeants.’’ , qui s’est tenue en 2009. La prochaine phase du projet focalisera sur le soutien à apporter aux calligraphes islamiques émergeants d’Afrique.


Publications

The seminal work by Mahmoud Zouber The seminal work by Mahmoud Zouber

L’équipe du Projet des Manuscrits de Tombouctou travaille actuellement sur deux importants projets de livre. Le premier est la publication des traductions de manuscrits produites par Shahid Mathee, Ebrahiem Moos et autres chercheurs affiliés au projet. Le second projet est la traduction et la publication de l’œuvre fondatrice Ahmed Baba: sa vie et son oeuvre ('Ahmed Baba: His life and works'), écrite parMahmoud Zubayr. Susana Molins-Lliteras travaille actuellement à la traduction du livre du français à l’anglais qu’elle mettra en forme en vue d’une prochaine publication.  

D’autre part, le volume The Meanings of Timbuktu, actuellement disponible en anglais est en voie de traduction et de préparation pour être publié en français, en arabe et en japonais.

Pour une liste de toutes les précédentes publications du projet, visiter Publications.


Histoire du Livre en Afrique

Madrasah students learning to write in the Arabic script, Timbuktu Madrasah students learning to write in the Arabic script, Timbuktu

L’histoire du livre en Afrique qui éclaire fortement le travail du Projet, est devenu un de nos principaux thèmes de recherche. Ainsi, en plus de l’étude de manuscrits existants, nous nous intéressons à l’exploration des questions contextuelles concernant la production et la culture de manuscrits sur le continent. Ce qui inclut les pratiques de lecture, le commerce du livre, la circulation des textes et les pratiques d’alphabétisation.

Comme faisant partie de notre travail sur ce thème, nous avons établi un groupe de travail composé de doctorants d’Afrique. Deux de ces chercheurs ont récemment participé, pendant  trois semaines, à un stage intensif de formation qui s’est tenu au Cap ; il s’agissait d’une série d’ateliers sur les thèmes de l’histoire du livre, des cultures de la lecture et des archives. Ces universitaires ont également bénéficié de cours sur l’écriture académique, et préparent actuellement, en vue d’une publication, des dissertations sur les thèmes de leur recherche.

Les articles discutés lors de ces séminaires sont accessibles aux usagers inscrits via notre Database.

Projects

Timbuktu manuscripts 

Manuscript folios post-conservation Manuscript folios post-conservation

Our work with the manuscripts of Timbuktu continues. Researchers are involved in the ongoing translation of materials from the Ahmed Baba and Mamma Haidara collections. Thus far, due to researchers’ individual areas of focus, there has been an emphasis on the translation of manuscripts related to fatawa (Islamic legal rulings), Sufi practises and women. A collection of these translations are in preparation for publication.

Registered users can access manuscript translations via the Database.

 


On-going training

Project researchers and associates discussing African Calligraphies, Cape Town. Project researchers and associates discussing African Calligraphies, Cape Town.

The Tombouctou Manuscripts Project regularly organises training for young scholars and researchers affiliated with the Project. These workshops are intended to assist scholars with their research, and to encourage interaction between scholars affiliated with the Project. The scope of this training is broad, including language courses (in Arabic, French and English), public speaking workshops, academic writing seminars, as well as information technology and research skills workshops.

In addition to skills-training, we have organised reading groups based on topics relevant to our field, including the history of the book, archive theory and the history of reading.


Other Manuscripts of Mali (Jenne)

Manuscripts stored for future archiving in New Jenne Library Manuscripts stored for future archiving in New Jenne Library

The town of Jenne lies in the Inland Niger Delta region of Mali. Its history is closely linked with that of Timbuktu: Jenne was also part of the trans-Saharan Trade route and, as with Timbuktu, the town became an important centre of Islamic scholarship. Jenne's rich scholarly legacy is manifested in its contemporary manuscript collections, held mostly in family homes throughout Jenne and its surrounding areas.

Manuscripts of local Jenne families Manuscripts of local Jenne families

Research and preservation projects addressing the Jenne manuscripts are still emerging. After visiting the town in 2009, the Tombouctou Manuscripts Project has committed to assisting local efforts to preserve and begin research into these manuscripts, through skills training of the local custodians.


African Ajami

First meeting of the African Ajami research network, Timbuktu First meeting of the African Ajami research network, Timbuktu

Now that the Tombouctou Manuscripts Project has been operating for several years, we are broadening our focus beyond Timbuktu, to Arabic writing cultures elsewhere in Africa. A major aspect of this process is connecting with scholars working on ajami writing cultures in other parts of the Continent. Thus far our African ajami network includes experts from Niger, Mali, Nigeria, Ethiopia, South Africa as well as Norway and Poland. Our first meeting was held in December 2009. For more information, see Events.

We are always looking to expand this network, to include researchers working in other regions in Africa. If you are interested in joining our network, please contact us.


Cape Town

Salie family manuscript collection, Cape Town Salie family manuscript collection, Cape Town

In 2008, the project began researching local Ajami writing traditions, including Arabic-Afrikaans and jawi (Arabic-Malay). Saarah Jappie undertook a pilot study, surveying the general situation of Ajami cultures in Cape Town. This study included the cataloguing of a private library of a local Capetonian, Imam Manie Bassier. Work on this Ajami tradition is still in progress, with an exhibition and catalogue translation envisaged in the near future.


African Calligraphies

'The Saints of Timbuktu', Boubacar Sadeck 'The Saints of Timbuktu', Boubacar Sadeck

This project began with the calligraphy exhibition, From Istanbul to Timbuktu: Ink Routes and the workshops and academic seminar linked to it, held  in August 2009. One of the main aims of the exhibition and the events surrounding it was to highlight African Islamic calligraphies as part of broader Islamic art. This aim was particularly significant, given that African calligraphies are rarely included in dominant representations of Islamic calligraphic traditions. The next phase of the project will focus on supporting budding Islamic calligraphers in Africa.

 


Publication

The seminal work by Mahmoud Zouber The seminal work by Mahmoud Zouber

The Tombouctou Manuscripts Project team is currently working on two main book projects. The first is the publication of the manuscript translations produced by Shahid Mathee, Ebrahiem Moos and other researchers affiliated with the project. The second project is the translation and publication of the seminal work Ahmad Baba de Tombouctou: sa vie et son oeuvre ('Ahmad Baba of Timbuktu: His life and works'), written by Mahmoud Zouber. Susana Molins-Lliteras is currently translating the book from French into English and will be preparing it for publication shortly.

In addition, the edited volume The Meanings of Timbuktu (hyperlink), currently available in English, is now being translated and prepared for publication in French, Arabic and Japanese.

For a list of previous publications see Publications.


Book History in Africa

Madrasah students learning to write in the Arabic script, Timbuktu Madrasah students learning to write in the Arabic script, Timbuktu

The subject of book history in Africa strongly informs the work of the Project and has become one of our main research themes. Thus, in addition to studying existing manuscripts, we are interested in exploring the contextual issues regarding manuscript production and culture on the Continent. This includes reading practices, the book trade, text circulation and literacy practices.

As a part of our work on this theme, we have established a working group consisting of PhD candidates from Africa. Two of these researchers recently took part in a 3-week intensive training program in Cape Town, which consisted of workshops around the themes of book history, reading cultures and archives. The scholars were also given academic writing support and are currently preparing essays on their research topics to be published.

The articles discussed in these seminars are accessible for registered users via our Database.