معهد أحمد بابا للتعليم العالي والبحوث الإسلامية

أسّست حكومة مالي مركز أحمد بابا للتوثيق والبحوث التاريخية، أو كما يقال “سيدراب” اختصاراً باللغة بالفرنسية، في تمبكتو عام 1973. وتعود نشأة المركز أصلاً إلى الاجتماع الذي عقدته منظمة اليونسكو عام 1967 في تمبكتو لتخطيط عدد من مجلدات اليونيسكو عن تاريخ إفريقيا. وفي نهاية الاجتماع تم الخروج بقرارٍ يدعو حكومة مالي لإنشاء مركز للحفاظ على المخطوطات العربية في تمبكتو. وتم تشييد هذا المركز في المقام الأول بتمويل من دولة الكويت حيث بدأ المركز أعماله على الفور في جمع المخطوطات.

ويضم مركز أحمد بابا حالياً حوالي 30 ألف مخطوطة تم جمعها بفضل جهود بعض الأشخاص البارزين  بما فيهم الدكتور محمود الزبير، أول مدير للمركز، وعبد القادر حيدرة الذي بدأ العمل بسيدراب (مركز أحمد بابا) قبل إنشاء مكتبة عائلته الخاصة. ولازالت كمية المخطوطات الحالية قليلة مقارنةً بالعدد المقدر وجوده في المنطقة. وقد نشرت بالفعل مؤسسة “الفرقان للتراث الإسلامي” كاتالوج، غير مكتمل حتى الآن، يضم حوالي 9000 مخطوطة من مجموعة سيدراب.

 

بناء المكتبة

تمكن مركز سيدراب في الفترة ما بين 1973 و 1984 من الحصول على 3500 مخطوطة فقط. وعندما انضم عبد القادر للمركز عام 1984 وبفضل قدرته ونفوذ عائلته، تولى مهمة جمع المزيد من المخطوطات. حيث بدأ بحثه في تمبكتو وتمكن، رغم الصعوبات الكثيرة التي واجهته، من الاتصال مع أفراد العائلة وشراء ما استطاع شراؤه. إذ دفع في بعض الأحيان مبلغ 200 دولار لقاء مخطوطة من صفحة واحدة ومبلغ 300 دولار في أحيان أخرى لقاء مخطوطة كاملة. وكانت قيمة المخطوطات متنوعة، إلا أن المخطوطات التاريخية منها كانت الأكثر قيمةً بشكل عام تليها المخطوطات المزخرفة، والأعمال الكاملة القديمة جداً، وبعدها أعمال المفكرين والعلماء المحليين، والمراسلات التاريخية والسياسية، وأخيراً ، المخطوطات غير المؤرخة والمجهولة.

وامتد البحث عن المخطوطات ليشمل المناطق المحيطة بتمبكتو في الفترة الممتدة بين عامي 1984و1987. وبذل عبد القادر جهوداً كبيرة للتكيف مع متطلبات أصحاب المخطوطات، حيث اضطر أحيانا لمقايضة المخطوطات بالدواجن والمواشي لأنها كانت ذات قيمة أكبر من المال بالنسبة للبعض. وعليه فقد حقق عبد القادر نجاحاً هائلاً في بعض القرى حيث تمكن، في بعض الحالات، من جمع ألفي مخطوط من قرية واحدة فقط.

كان مصدر المخطوطات الموجودة في مركز أحمد بابا يعود لجميع أنحاء مالي ليصل إلى موريتانيا وبوركينا فاسو والسنغال وغينيا والنيجر والجزائر وساحل العاج. وكانت جهود عبد القادر الهائلة عاملاً أساسياً في الحصول على  16 ألف مخطوطة للمركز بين عامي 1984 و2002.

أما المدير الحالي للمعهد فهو الدكتور محمد غالّه ديكو.

معهد أحمد بابا الجديد

تم في عام 2009 التدشين الرسمي للمبنى الجديد لمعهد أحمد بابا. وجاء هذا المشروع ثمرة اتفاقية ثنائية بين حكومتي جنوب إفريقيا ومالي بدأ تنفيذها عام 2001 عقب زيارة رئيس جنوب إفريقيا السابق، ثابو مبيكي، إلى تمبكتو. وجاء تشييد هذا المبنى بنداً من بنود الاتفاقية العديدة التي تهدف مجتمعةً إلى تعزيز الحفظ والبحث والترويج لهذه المخطوطات كتراثٍ إفريقي. وبالإضافة إلى  أحدث الوسائل اللازمة للتخزين السليم والمحافظة على المخطوطات، يضم المبنى الجديد مرافق للباحثين بما فيها غرف للاجتماعات وقاعة محاضرات ومكتبة وأماكن إقامة للباحثين الوافدين من الخارج.

Ahmed Baba Institute of Higher Learning and Islamic Research (IHERI-AB)

The government of Mali had instituted the Ahmed Baba Centre for Documentation and Research (CEDRAB-the abbreviated title it is generally referred to in French) in Timbuktu in 1973. The origins of the centre go back to a meeting convened by Unesco, in 1967 in Timbuktu, when planning its multi-volume history of Africa. At the end of the meeting a resolution was passed calling on the government of Mali to establish a centre for the preservation of Arabic manuscripts in Timbuktu. The centre was built primarily with funding received from Kuwait and immediately began its collection of manuscripts.

The Ahmed Baba Institute of Higher Learning and Islamic Research, as it is now known, currently holds about 30 000 manuscripts, collected through the efforts of some outstanding individuals, including Dr Mahmoud Zubayr, the centre’s first director, and Abdul Kader Haidara, who started out working for CEDRAB, before going on to establish his family's private library. This number of manuscripts is still a conservative quantity, considering the estimated number of extant manuscripts in the region. The Al-Furqan Islamic Heritage Foundation has already published a catalogue, incomplete as yet, listing about 9000 manuscripts from the CEDRAB collection.

Building The Library

In the period between 1973 and 1984 CEDRAB had only managed to acquire 3500 manuscripts. In 1984, Abdul Kader joined CEDRAB and, because of his potential and his influential family background, was given the task of gathering more manuscripts. His search began in Timbuktu, where, despite facing many difficulties, he contacted family members, buying what he could. He would sometimes pay US$200 for a single-page document and sometimes US$300 for a complete manuscript. The value of the manuscripts varied, but in general, history manuscripts were the most valuable, followed by ornate manuscripts, complete works that were very old, works of local scholarship, historical and political correspondence and, lastly, undated and anonymous manuscripts.

This search for manuscripts was then extended to the surrounding areas of Timbuktu. These expeditions in the outer regions extended from 1984 to 1987. Abdul Kader went to great lengths to accommodate manuscript owners, sometimes even buying them livestock, which would have been more valuable to some, than paying them with money. His success in the villages was outstanding. In some cases he collected 2000 manuscripts from a single village.

The manuscripts at the Ahmed Baba Institute were also sourced from all over Mali and as far as the borders of Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Guinea, Niger, Algeria and the Ivory Coast. Abdul Kader’s immense efforts were essential in this acquisition of 16 000 manuscripts for the centre, between 1984 and 2002.

The current director of the institute is Dr Mohammed Gallah Dicko.

The New Ahmed Baba Institute

In 2009, the new building of the Ahmed Baba Institute was officially opened. It is the product of a bi-lateral agreement between the South African and Malian governments, which began in 2001, after former South African president, Thabo Mbeki’s visit to Timbuktu. The building is one of several conditions of the agreement, all of which aim to promote the conservation, research and promotion of the manuscripts as African heritage. The new building not only contains state-of-the-art resources for the proper storage and preservation of the manuscripts, but also has facilities for researchers, including conference rooms and a lecture theatre, a library and accommodation for researchers from abroad.