المشروع

Researchers at work, Timbuktu Researchers at work, Timbuktu

منذ عام 2002، عندما ظهرت فكرة تشكيل مشروع مخطوطات تومبُكتو لأول مرة، انخرطنا بمختلف جوانب دراسة تقاليد المخطوطات في تمبكتو- مالي. كانت هذه المدينة مركزاً تعليمياً هاماً ذائع الصيت في منطقة غرب إفريقيا وما ورائها خلال الفترة الممتدة بين القرن الثالث عشر والقرن العشرين. حيث اعتاد العلماء المحليون وطلابهم تسجيل دراساتهم الخاصة—الأصلية والمنسوخة منها – على شكل مخطوطات أو نصوص مكتوبة بخط اليد. ومنذ بدايته، عني مشروعنا بشكلٍ كبير بدراسة المحتوى المتنوع لهذه المخطوطات وكيفية انتشار الأفكار والعلماء واقتصاد كتب المخطوطات وجوانب أخرى من “العمل المعرفي” في تومبكتو.

تمّ في كانون الثاني/ يناير 2004 تحويل مجموعة مختارة من النصوص الفقهية (في البداية 100 مخطوطة بأحجام مختلفة) إلى الشكل الرقميّ في مكتبة ماما حيدرة في تمبكتو. وتم في وقتٍ لاحقٍ رقمنة 60 مخطوطة أخرى من مجموعة أحمد بابا أيضاً لتسهيل عمل البحث في المشروع. ومنذ بواكير العمل، قررنا دراسة بعض المخطوطات الرقمية بشكل أكثر تفصيلاً بما فيه ترجمتها إلى اللغة الإنكليزية. وشرعنا في عام 2004 بالدراسة الفعلية للمخطوطات الرقمية من خلال تقديم مصنفات تضمّ النصوص المختارة.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، تمت دراسة بعض المخطوطات بمختلف أحجامها ومواضيعها عن كثب، وتمت أيضاً ترجمتها لتخدم كأساسٍ لمختلف البحوث بما في ذلك أطروحات لنيل شهادة الدكتوراه والماجستير. إذ تسترعي اهتمامنا الجوانب المختلفة للمخطوطات بما فيها التاريخ الاجتماعي والفقه، والنخبة العلمية، وتاريخ الكتاب وجمع الكتب، تاريخ القراءة في غرب إفريقيا والخط العربي الإفريقي.

ولا تزال أعمال البحوث والترجمة في مخطوطات تمبكتو قائمةً حتى اليوم. إلا أنّ نطاق هذا المشروع يتسّع باضطراد ليشمل ثقافات الكتابة في أجزاء أخرى من القارة الإفريقية.

Swahili Manuscript, Mozambique Swahili Manuscript, Mozambique

وقد تم اكتشاف مجموعة مخطوطات أخرى في موزامبيق ومدغشقر باللغتين العربية وما يدعى بالعجمي (الماكوا بحروف عربية  والمالاغشي بحروف عربية). وتم إلحاق المجموعات الموجودة في زنجبار (باللغتين العربية والسواحلية) بعمل جديد في المكتبات الخاصة. وكان من شأن عملٍ تم نشره مؤخراً ويضم مجموعةً من المواد الفقهية من الصومال الساحلية أن لفت الانتباه إلى المصادر الموجودة في تلك المنطقة. ويوجد في إثيوبيا تقليد قائم منذ زمن طويل في الكتابة المسيحية القبطية باللغة الأمهرية، لكن من الضروري أيضاً البحث في كتب الفنون الأمهرية حيث توجد نصوص مكتوبة باللغتين العربية والأمهرية في محفوظات أديس أبابا. هناك أيضاً المزيد من الأمثلة الموجودة في مختلف أنحاء القارة الإفريقية في السياق نفسه.

بدأت أسئلةٌ متعددةٌ بالظهور مع “إعادة اكتشاف” مجموعات متنوعة من المخطوطات حول القارة. إلا أن المجالين الرئيسين الذين يهدف المشروع إلى التركيز عليهما يتمحوران حول “تاريخ الكتب” في إفريقيا وحالة المحفوظات أو الأراشيف التي تُحفظ هذه المخطوطات ضمنها. ومن شأن ما ذُكر أن يضع عالم الكتاب الإفريقي في مكانةً هامة ضمن المناقشة الدولية في المجال المتنامي لـ “تاريخ الكتب”  حيث لا وجود لها – أي الكتب الإفريقية- في الوقت الراهن. أما الهدف الثاني، وهو مسألة أكثر عمليّة، يتناول النهج المتبع في تشكيل واعتماد المحفوظات والأرشفة: أي سياسة الأرشفة.

Researchers at work, Timbuktu Researchers at work, Timbuktu

Since 2002, when the idea of the formation of the Tombouctou Manuscripts Project first emerged, we have been involved with various aspects of the study of the manuscript tradition of Timbuktu, Mali. This city was a great centre of learning and was famous in West Africa and far beyond, from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Local scholars and their students recorded their scholarship – original works and copies – in manuscripts, or handwritten texts.  Our project has been very much concerned with the diverse content of the manuscripts, the circulation of scholars and ideas, the economy of the manuscript book, and other aspects of the “work of scholarship” in Timbuktu.

A selection of legal texts (initially 100 manuscripts of varying size) was digitised at the Mamma Haidara Library in Timbuktu in January 2004. Another 60 manuscripts from the Ahmed Baba collection were subsequently also digitised for research by the project. At the very inception of our project, it was decided that at least some of the manuscripts digitally captured would be studied in more detail, which included translating them into English. In 2004 we embarked upon the actual study of the digitised manuscripts by producing workbooks comprising selected texts.

Since then, manuscripts of varying lengths and on various topics have been closely studied and also translated, serving as a basis for research, including doctoral and master’s thesis work. We look at various aspects of the manuscripts, including: legal and social history; scholarly elites; history of the book and book collecting; history of reading in West Africa and African Arabic calligraphy.

The research and translation of the Timbuktu manuscripts still continues today. However, the scope of the project is broadening, to encompass writing cultures from other parts of the African continent.

Swahili Manuscript, Mozambique Swahili Manuscript, Mozambique
New discoveries of collections have been identified in Mozambique and Madagascar, in both Arabic and so-called Ajami (Makua in Arabic script, Malagasy in Arabic script). Existing collections in Zanzibar (in Arabic and Swahili) have been supplemented with new work on private libraries. A recent publication of a collection of legal materials from coastal Somalia has directed attention to materials there. In Ethiopia there is a long-standing tradition of Coptic Christian writing in Amharic and research on Amharic book arts is necessary; there are also texts written in both Arabic and Amharic in Addis Ababa archives. The list of examples goes on and covers many parts of the continent.

There are multiple questions that are emerging with the “rediscovery” of various manuscript collections on the continent. The two main areas that the project aims to focus on are “the history of books” in Africa, and the state of the archives in which these manuscript books reside. The former places the African world of books firmly within an international discussion in the growing field of “the history of books”, where it has no presence at the moment. The latter, a more practical issue, approaches the way in which archives are constituted and appropriated: the politics of the archive.